Ron Blum maintains a private practice in rural northern Maine, divided between Occupational Medicine, including as Medical Director for Twin Rivers Paper Company, a US/Canadian corporation, and a primary care practice at a Federally Qualified Rural Health Center.   He provides a broad range of OM services, including IME’s, MRO, FMCSA and SS examinations, and serves as School Physician, Medical Director of a nursing home, and Health Officer for the local Boy Scout council, when not gardening, canoeing, or sailing.  He was instrumental in developing the FMCSA Certified Medical Examiner Training Course for NECOEM and has served on the Board of Directors for the past decade.  Dr. Blum grew up in PA, attended Albright College and the Jefferson Medical College, and completed a residency at an Albert Einstein affiliate hospital in the Bronx before escaping to the north Maine woods (site of our newest National Monument (Katahdin Woods and Waters).


Matt Lundquist, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Matthew Lundquist is board certified by both the American Board of Internal Medicine and the American Board of Preventive Medicine/Occupational Medicine. Dr. Lundquist received his medical degree from Stony Brook University Medical Center School of Medicine, and his master’s in public health from Yale University. He served his Internal Medicine residency and Occupational and Environmental Medicine fellowship at Yale University School of Medicine. He is currently the Medical Director of Middlesex Hospital’s Department of Occupational and Environmental Medicine in Middletown, CT.  He resides in Connecticut with his wife and two children.


David Diamond, MD, FACOEM

David V. Diamond is Chief of Environmental and Occupational Medicine at the MIT Medical Department.  He is Board Certified in Internal Medicine and OEM and has practiced occupational medicine at MIT for 25 years.  He is responsible for the environmental and occupational health of the 30,000 people who live and work at MIT, Draper Laboratory, Whitehead Institute, Broad Institute, and Lincoln Laboratory.  In this work, he collaborates closely with and is supported by over 60 allied health professionals of the MIT EHS office.  For the last 5 years he has served as Secretary/Treasurer of NECOEM and has been a Board member since 2003.





Jay Poliner, MD, MPH

Jay Poliner is a NECOEM Board member, ACOEM Fellow, and board certified in Preventive Medicine (Occupational) based in West Hartford, CT.   A graduate of Harvard Medical School, Dr. Poliner completed family medicine residency training at the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill and Case Western Reserve University Hospitals of Cleveland.   Following several years of private practice in Ohio, he completed a Master of Public Health degree in Occupational Medicine at the Harvard School of Public Health. He then served as a commissioned officer in the Epidemic Intelligence Service of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) in Atlanta, assigned to the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH).

His work experience includes directing a state-sponsored occupational health program for workers in upstate New York.  He subsequently managed occupational health programs at three Fortune 100 companies.  He currently serves as an independent corporate medical consultant for several manufacturing and service organizations.

Dr. Poliner has served as a faculty member for the NECOEM National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners training program that trained over 700 healthcare providers in New England.  He has also participated in colloquia of the Occupational and Environmental Medicine Program at the University of Connecticut Health Center.  He is a volunteer for University of Connecticut College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources public health programs, and a Corporator (Trustee) of the Eastern States Exposition (BigE), the largest multi-state agricultural fair held annually in West Springfield, Massachusetts.



Kenji Saito, MD, JD

Kenji Saito currently serves as the Medical Director of Occupational Health and Wellness at The Aroostook Medical Center in northern Maine (Presque Isle). He enjoys practicing clinical occupational medicine, engaging with population health, and advising the hospital’s safety, claims review, medical staff executive and ethics committees.  Dr. Saito remains actively involved in bioethics research and instruction as well as employment and environmental law. He received a med/law dual degree from Temple University School of Medicine and Rutgers University School of  Law where he created a new elective in medical ethics, founded the Temple University Medical Ethics Society, and co-founded the city’s first Center for Bioethics, Urban Health and Policy. His graduate studies earned D. Saito the American Society of Law, Medicine and Ethics Health Law Award as well as the Bureau of National Affairs Award for Excellence in the Study of Health Law. He serves in the ACOEM House of Delegates, as well as Secretary and Treasurer representing residents and recent graduates, and serves as visiting faculty for the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine in occupational and environmental medicine.



Dianne Plantamura, MSW, CSS

Dianne Plantamura became the NECOEM Executive Director in 2000. Previously she served as the Coordinator of the Occupational Medicine Clinic at Massachusetts Respiratory Hospital, a Harvard School of Public Health Occupational Health Clinic. She earned her Master’s in Administration and Management at Harvard University and her Master’s in Social Work at Boston University.



Abhijay Karandikar, MD, MPH, FACOEM
Phil Lerner, MD, MPH, FACOEM
Matthew Lundquist, MD, MPH
Glenn Pransky, MD, MoccH, FACOEM
Dana Sparhawk, MD, MPH

Diane Chen, MD, MPH
David Berube, MD, MPH, FACOEM
Claudia Hix, DO, MPH, FACOEM
Fred H. Kohanna, MD, MBA, FACOEM
Jay Poliner, MD, MPH, FACOEM
Kenji Saito, MD, JD
Susan Upham, MD, MPH

12/16 – 12/19
David V. Diamond, MD, FACOEM
Peter Lee, MD, MPH, FACOEM
Philip Parks, MD, MPH, FACOEM


2017 Committees and Chairs:

Jacqueline Cook, MD
Claudia Hix, DO
Philip Parks, MD

Diane Chen, MD, MPH
MA OHSP Representative
Dean Hashimoto, MD, JD

Susan Upham, MD, MPH
Assistant Editors: Tom Luna, MD, Abhijay Karandikar, MD, MPH, FACOEM

David Diamond, MD, CSS, FACOEM
Matthew Lundquist, MD, MPH, FACOEM
Dianne Plantamura, MSW, CSS

Peter Lee, MD, MPH, FACOEM